Yesterday I decided to switch up my normal makeup routine. Normally I look something like this.
I tend to wear a decent amount of makeup but try to make it look like I'm not wearing too much. I've been wearing makeup since middle school and in high school I got into Mary Kay, I even sold it for a while. Now, I stick to Mary Kay's skincare products and act like a kid in a candy store whenever I walk into Sephora. I go from one display to the next layering everything possible.
Like most girls I have issues with my features, my eyes are too small, my lips are non existent & extremely pale, my nose is sorta fat (I know, how can your nose be fat?), my eyebrows are thin from years of plucking almost bare.
But one of my nonresolutions is to be happy with myself so instead I play up my bright smile, the way my eyes sparkle when I'm happy, and the fact that the first wrinkles appearing on my face are crows feet from smiling.
Normally I wear Mary Kay eyebrow liner, Benefit Boi-ing concealor, Lorac After Party eyeshadow layered on top of Stila Sparkle eyeshadow, Maybelline Unstoppable eyeliner in Onyx, Lancome Hypnose Drama mascara (my all time favorite!), sometimes a little Mary Kay mineral cheek color in Golden Copper, a dusting of Mary Kay mineral powder, and Nars lipgloss in Female Trouble (I hate the name but love the color!)
But, as I said, yesterday I wanted something new, something different.
I skimped on the makeup, and man did the shopping bags under my eyes appear.
I stuck to my normal concealer & powder routine but skipped eye makeup except for mascara. And then I swiped on some Nars lipstick in Red Lizard and walked out the door.
It was fun to play up my lips instead of my eyes, people asked if I had big plans for the night, I felt a little sexier despite the fact that my dirty hair was in a messy pony.
And while I loved feeling a little more glamorous the best part of my day came at dinner, when I asked Jus what he thought of my lips and he replied that they were ok but that I had enough lips on my own.
I promise, I'm not trying to rub in how amazing my husband is, but I am damn lucky to have such a guy.
And lest you think I'm bowing down to the makeup gods and not truly embracing my own beauty I'm going to take a cue from some brave bloggers and truly embrace my beauty.
There you have it, a makeup-less Cole in my Grace Potter tee with wet hair, it doesn't get much better than this. (Well, that's a lie, I much prefer the way I look with some makeup on)
Do you ever change up your make up look?




